Tricopter build log

Hi guys, I hope this is not a totally inane thing to post about but I thought some people might find my build-log interesting.

David Windestål’s (rcexplorer) build video on flitetest is largely responsible for me having a go at this, I’ve been researching it on and off over the past few months. I decided on a tricopter rather than a quad based on lower part count and thus lower initial investment. As a noob I don’t want to dump a lot of money into this before I learn to crawl.

Parts list:
Tx: Turnigy 9X
Rx: Bundled 8 channel.
Motors: DT750’s
ESCs: HK 20A UBEC’s
Flight controller: KK2.1 HC
Servo: HiTEC HS-82MG
props: 9047SF Slow Fly
Battery: Turnigy 4S 3000mAh (I also picked up a Accucell 6 to charge the batteries)

I decided to use the ‘optimised’ variant of the rcexplorer coffin-body frame (http://www.undcon.com/colorex/) making sure to adjust the screw hole positions to allow for the booms I have. I cut the plates from 3mm plastic sheeting - a £1.80 clipboard from Tescos - allowing me to get 4 of them per clipboard; I’m sure any other brand clipboard would work just as well. :wink:

Frame is built from 15 * 12mm pine stripwood from B&Q. I couldn’t find anywhere locally that stocked 12mm square stripwood and I don’t have a table saw that would have allowed me to square the booms up.

Note that with the ‘optimised’ design the front booms rotate around the outside screws rather than the inside screws.

I’m working on the yaw mechanism, I had hoped to replicate the rcexplorer design but HobbyKing was out of the landing gear parts in the UK store so I went looking for alternatives and found the Simplecopter design. I could have purchased the parts from the international HobbyKing store but postage costs would have been 10x the cost of the parts…